Science Fiction Hall of Fame Opens Noms and Awards to Public: or 2016, The Year Popular SF Recognition Became…Popular

Thursday , 14, April 2016 Leave a comment

James Gunn founded the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame in 1996 at the University of Kansas, and now it is located at the EMP in Seattle.

Yet another means of recognizing achievement in Science Fiction has turned to the consumers of Science Fiction for insight. This time, it is the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame.

Founded in 1996, the Hall of Fame was relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas to its permanent home at EMP in 2004. The final inductees were formerly chosen by a panel of award-winning science fiction and fantasy authors, artists, editors, publishers, and film professionals, but not this year. In the past, the nomination of possible inductees was determined by a closed committee. For the first time, the Hall of Fame requested nominations from the public.

Nominations are closed for this year, but public voting for the finalists begins on April 27.

[An aside: The venerable James Gunn, founder of the Hall of Fame, just released Transgalactic, his sequel to Transcendental, at the age of 92. Hall of Fame indeed!]

Categories include favorites from the genres of science fiction and fantasy including:


  • directors
  • actors
  • writers
  • animators
  • composers


  • movies
  • video games
  • books
  • graphic novels

Current Members (Creators) of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame


  • Brian W. Aldiss
  • Poul Anderson
  • Isaac Asimov
  • Betty Ballantine
  • Ian Ballantine
  • Alfred Bester
  • James Blish
  • Chesley Bonestell
  • David Bowie
  • Leigh Brackett
  • Ray Bradbury
  • Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • Octavia E. Butler
  • James Cameron
  • John W. Campbell, Jr.
  • Sir Arthur C. Clarke
  • Hal Clement
  • Samuel R. Delany
  • Vincent Di Fate
  • Philip K. Dick
  • Gordon R. Dickson
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Harlan Ellison
  • Ed Emshwiller
  • Edward L. Ferman
  • Virgil Finlay
  • Frank Frazetta
  • Frank Kelly Freas
  • Jack Gaughan
  • Hugo Gernsback
  • William Gibson
  • H.R. Giger
  • Jean ‘Moebius’ Giraud
  • James Gunn
  • Joe Haldeman
  • Harry Harrison
  • Ray Harryhausen
  • Robert A. Heinlein
  • Frank Herbert
  • Damon Knight
  • Stanley Kubrick
  • Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Robert Silverberg
  • E.E. Smith
  • Steven Spielberg
  • Olaf Stapledon
  • Theodore Sturgeon
  • James Tiptree, Jr.
  • J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Douglas Trumbull
  • Wilson Tucker
  • A. E. van Vogt
  • Kurt Vonnegut
  • Jack Vance
  • Jules Verne
  • H.G. Wells
  • Michael Whelan
  • Kate Wilhelm
  • Jack Williamson
  • Connie Willis
  • Gene Wolfe
  • Donald Allen Wollheim
  • Roger Zelazny



Please give us your valuable comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *