Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /home/linweb28/c/ on line 31
Martin van Creveld –

Martin van Creveld


DR. MARTIN VAN CREVELD is a Professor Emeritus of the Hebrew University, Jerusalem and one of the world’s leading writers on military history and strategy. He is a military historian with a special interest in the future of war. He is fluent in Hebrew, German, Dutch, and English, and has authored more than twenty books on history and war. He is known for his development of the concept of “nontrinitarian” warfare, and the famous science fiction writer Jerry Pournelle has declared that “his work is a necessary supplement to Clausewitz”. The Basic School at Quantico has honored him by naming one of the prominent features of the terrain on its training ground after him.

Books listed in blue text as links can be purchased in EPUB and Kindle format here at the Castalia House store. To see all his books presently available on the store, click here.


  • A History of Strategy: From Sun Tzu to William S. Lind (2015)
  • Equality: The Impossible Quest (2015)
  • Supplying War: Logistics from Wallenstein to Patton (1977)
  • Hitler’s Strategy 1940-1941; The Balkan Clue (1982)
  • Fighting Power: German and US Army Performance, 1939-1945 (1982)
  • Command in War (1985)
  • Technology and War: 2000 B.C. to the Present (1988)
  • The Training of Officers: From Professionalism to Irrelevance (1989)
  • The Transformation of War (1991)
  • Nuclear Proliferation and the Future of Conflict (1993)
  • Airpower and Maneuver Warfare (1994)
  • The Encyclopaedia of Revolutions and Revolutionaries form A to Z (ed.) (1996)
  • The Sword and the Olive: A History of the Israel Defense Force (1996)
  • The Rise and Decline of the State (1999)
  • Men, Women and War (2001)
  • Moshe Dayan (2004)
  • Defending Israel (2004)
  • Countering Modern Terrorism (ed., with K. von Knop and H. Neisser) (2005)
  • The Changing Face of War: Lessons of Combat from the Marne to Iraq (2007)
  • The American Riddle (2008)
  • The Culture of War (2010)
  • The Land of Blood and Honey: The Rise of Modern Israel (2010)
  • The Age of Airpower (2011)
  • The Evolution of Operational Art (ed., with John Olsen (2011)
  • Wargames: From Gladiators to Gigabytes (2013)
  • The Privileged Sex (2013)
  • A Biography of Conscience (2015)

Please give us your valuable comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *